assam police

Guwahati, August 14, 2019:

On the occasion of Independence Day, the Assam Police has announced names of the Gallantry Award winners who will be awarded for their performances.

Support Independent Media

Support us in our efforts to bring authentic, extensive and thorough news coverage from Northeast India. Do support independent media as good journalism can only survive when a media organization is both editorially and financially independent.

Pay for quality news

Lt. Bhaskar Kalita, Late Sub Inspector Bhaskar Kalita has been awarded police medal for gallantry, posthumously. Bhaskar Kalita, the officer-in-charge of Bordumsa police station, was killed during an ‘encounter’ on May 4, 2018, at Kujupathar in upper Assam’s Tinsukia district.

The list of other awardees are-

Bedanta Madhab Rajkhowa, Deputy Commissioner of Police (Security & Intelligence) Guwahati
Dwijen Chandra Das, Deputy Superintendent of Police (Hq), CID, Guwahati
Prafulla Barman, Inspector of Police, ADGP BI(EO), Guwahati
K Basanta Singha, Police Sub-Inspector (AB), Police Training College, Dergaon
Apurba Sarma, Asst Sub-Inspector of Police (UB), Goalpara D.E.F
Muzharul Islam Laskar, Asst Sub-Inspector of Police (UB) Panchgram Police Station, Hailakandi D.E.F
Manab Sonowal, Head Constable, Sadiya D.E.F
Rantu Kumar Gogoi, Naik-514
Kripasindhu Purkayastha, Constable AB-267, Tinsukia D.E.F
Abani Kumar Chakraborty, Constable AB-783, Assam
Moheswar Sonowal, Constable (UB), Assam
Utpal Jyoti Deka, Constable (UB) CID, Ulubari, Guwahati

Moreover, the list of awardees of Chief Minister’s Police Medal for outstanding service:
Rafikul Alam Laskar, Asst. Inspector-General of Police (Admin), Assam Police Headquarters, Guwahati
Prakash Medhi, Sub-Divisional Police officer, Bijni, Chirang
Mukunda Murari Mahanta, Divisional Officer (East), Fire & Emergency Services, Guwahati
Inspector (AB) Bachan Singh, Armed Police Training Centre, Dergaon
SI (UB) Md. Emdadul Hussain, Goalpara DEF
SI (UB) Rudra Kumar Bordoloi, Dima Hasao DEF
SI (UB) Debojit Kumar Bori, Special Branch Organisation, Kahilipara, Guwahati
SI (UB) Abhisekh Bodo, Police Commissionerate, Guwahati
SI (UB) Sabir Ali, Goalpara DEF
UBC Rupam Kumar Dihingia, Golaghat DEF

Join us as we continue the awareness campaign to preserve the only Ramsar site in Assam which is facing immense threats (A Ramsar site is a wetland site designated to be of international importance under the Ramsar Convention). We need your help to preserve this site of great ecological importance. Join the #LetsSaveDeeporBeel campaign and tweet about it, and do tag us on Twitter. It is time to create awareness.


The Inside Northeast app HERE for News, Views and Reviews from Northeast India.

Do keep following us for news on-the-go. We deliver the Northeast

Share this: