New Delhi, June 17, 2019:

All the twenty-five newly-elected MPs from Northeast India, along with the rest of the MPs elected during the 2019 Lok Sabha polls, took oath as Lok Sabha MPs on the first day of the 17th Lok Sabha’s first session. Seven-time BJP MP from Tikamgarh, Virendra Kumar, administered oath to the new batch of MPs.

Support Independent Media

Support us in our efforts to bring authentic, extensive and thorough news coverage from Northeast India. Do support independent media as good journalism can only survive when a media organization is both editorially and financially independent.

Pay for quality news

Along with Rijiju, 24 other MPs from the Northeast also took oath. It may be mentioned that Rijiju has been assigned the portfolio of Minister of State (Independent Charge) of the Ministry of Youth Affairs and Sports.

It may be mentioned that many of the MPs from Assam who took oath did so while donning the Assamese ‘gamusa’.

The first session of the 17th Lok Sabha will continue till June 26th, 2019 and it will have 30 sittings. Some key legislations are also likely to be taken up during the first session of the 17th Lok Sabha.

Meanwhile, there is a lot of confusion over whether Rahul Gandhi will continue as President of the Congress party. Moreover, it is still unclear as to who will assume the role of ‘leader of opposition’.

Experts have claimed that the opposition is in “disarray” after the BJP’s thumping win in the 2019 Lok Sabha elections, as the saffron unit was able to win an imposing 303 seats by itself.

Keep following Inside Northeast on Facebook, Youtube, Twitter, and Instagram. Do download our app from the Google Playstore for the latest news updates, views, and entertainment on the go. We deliver the Northeast.

Share this: