Lok Sabha
Uttar Pradesh Chief Minister Yogi Adityanath after casting his vote

Guwahati, May 19, 2019:

The polling in the seventh phase of polling is underway in 59 Lok Sabha constituencies spread across seven states and one Union Territory.

Support Independent Media

Support us in our efforts to bring authentic, extensive and thorough news coverage from Northeast India. Do support independent media as good journalism can only survive when a media organization is both editorially and financially independent.

Pay for quality news

Polling is also being held in Varanasi, from where Prime Minister Narendra Modi is seeking re-election.

According to Election Commission of India (ECI), over 10.01 lakh voters will decide the fate of 918 candidates in the final phase of the Lok Sabha polls.

The overall voter turnout at 9 am stood at 5.97%.

The poll percentage was 10.65% in Bihar, 0.40% in Himachal Pradesh, 4.57% in Madhya Pradesh, 2.94% in Punjab, 4,80% in Uttar Pradesh, 8.91% in West Bengal, 11.05% in Jharkhand, and 10.40% in Chandigarh, as per data on Election Commission’s Voter Turnout app.

In the seventh and last phase of polling, 13 seats each in Uttar Pradesh and Punjab, nine in West Bengal, eight seats each in Bihar and Madhya Pradesh, all four constituencies in Himachal Pradesh, three in Jharkhand and one seat in the Union Territory of Chandigarh will witness the polling.

The counting of votes will take place on May 23.

The election in the seven Northeastern states (and brother Sikkim) was held during the first three phases on April 11, April 19, and April 23.

Share this: