Lok Sabha polls
File photo: Voters taking part in their democratic exercise

Guwahati, May 12, 2019:

The voting is underway during the sixth and penultimate phase of voting in the Lok Sabha polls being held in the country across six phases.

Support Independent Media

Support us in our efforts to bring authentic, extensive and thorough news coverage from Northeast India. Do support independent media as good journalism can only survive when a media organization is both editorially and financially independent.

Pay for quality news

The election is being held in seven phases over a period of six and a half weeks. Today, the election will be held in 59 key Constituencies in the states of Uttar Pradesh, West Bengal, Madhya Pradesh,

President Ram Nath Kovind, cricketer Virat Kohli, his former colleague Gautam Gambhir, who is making his electoral debut from East Delhi, were among the early voters as polling began in 59 seats spread across six states and union territory in the sixth phase of the Lok Sabha elections.

BJP candidate from Bhopal, Pragya Thakur, was one of the first candidates to cast vote today. Congress President Rahul Gandhi walked down from his residence to his polling booth.

Voting is being held in 14 seats in Uttar Pradesh, 10 in Haryana, seven in Delhi, four in Jharkhand and eight each in Bihar, Madhya Pradesh and West Bengal.

Meanwhile, re polling is also underway in Tripura West Lok Sabha Constituency.

9.5% voter turnout has been recorded till 9 AM.

Share this: