Guwahati, April 18, 2019:

Elections are being held in a total of 95 parliamentary constituencies in 11 states and Union Territory Puducherry today during the second phase of voting. Voting has begun at 7 am and is expected to end at 6 pm.

Support Independent Media

Support us in our efforts to bring authentic, extensive and thorough news coverage from Northeast India. Do support independent media as good journalism can only survive when a media organization is both editorially and financially independent.

Pay for quality news

The states and the Union Territory undergoing polls are: Assam, Bihar, Chhattisgarh, Jammu and Kashmir, Karnataka, Maharashtra, Manipur, Odisha, Puducherry, Tamil Nadu, Uttar Pradesh, and West Bengal.

As many as 1611 candidates (124 of them female) are fighting for the 95 seats. On Tamil Nadu, the highest number of female candidates has been recorded as 42 women are contesting the polls.

Meanwhile, the Election Commission of India has deferred the polling in East Tripura in Tripura and Vellore Tamil Nadu which were also scheduled to head to the polls today.

Share this: