Guwahati, March 22, 2019:

add add

The BJP party on Wednesday announced the first list consisting of 182 candidates belonging to 20 states and among them were the names of eight contenders from Assam. But surprisingly, they refrained from announcing names of the BJP contenders for Nagaon and Tezpur.

It is to be mentioned that the sitting MPs from the two Constituencies – RP Sarmah and Rajen Gohain – have both been involved in controversies. R P Sarmah quit the party after details emerged that he would not be allowed to contest the election by the party. Gohain, on the other hand, is battling rape charges and won’t be contesting until his name is cleared.

After re-shuffling its political deck, the BJP has zeroed in on two new names to contest the elections. As per insider reports, Rangapara MLA Pallab Lochan Das has emerged as the new frontrunner from Tezpur while the Nagaon seat will most likely be contested by Rupak Sarmah, the sitting MLA from Nowgong Constituency. But the question that lingers on is, how is R P Sharma’s resignation going to affect the Gorkha vote bank?

Share this: