Union Home Ministry on Saturday received another major setback as IAS officer M.P Bezbaruah, who was heading the government’s Clause 6 implementation committee as the Chairman, has decided to walk out of the committee.


The Union Home Ministry formed a High Level Committee of nine members from Assam that included eminent personalities from various fields for the implementation of the Clause 6

Bezbaruah has followed in the steps of former Assam Sahitya Sabha president Dr. Nagen Saikia, who decided to quit the committee on Friday following his disagreement with government over the Citizenship Bill.

Expressing his disappointment over the Union Home Ministry, Bezbaruah said that the members were not notified prior to the formation of the committee. As per notification issued by the Ministry on January 5, the committee was headed by M P Bezbaruah.

Along with Dr Nagen Saikia and MP Bezbaruah, former Assam Sahitya Sabha president Rong Bong Terang, educationist Mukunda Rajbongshi and the AASU members had already cleared their names and rejected to be a part of the committee.

The committee is now under the verge of getting disbanded as six out of its nine members have already walked out and have rejected to be a part of the committee.

However, former editor of the Sentinel Dhirendra Nath Bezbaruah had decided to be a member of the committee but has cleared his stand against the Bill.

Share this: