Former president of Assam Sahitya Sabha Dr. Nagen Saikia has decided to walk out from the panel of members of the Clause 6 Implementation Committee formed by the Union Home Ministry.


The Union Home Ministry formed a High Level Committee of nine members from Assam that included eminent personalities from various fields for the implementation of the Clause 6. The committee is being headed by retired IAS officer M P Bezbaruah.

Another former president of Assam Sahitya Sabha Rong Bong Terang and educationist Mukunda Rajbongshi has also rejected to be a part of the committee along with Dr. Saikia.

On the other hand, clearing his stand against the Citizenship (Amendment) Bill 2016, former editor of the Sentinel Dhirendra Nath Bezbaruah has decided to be a member of the committee but also assured that he would resign from the membership if the people of Assam asks for.

The other members of the nine member committee formed by the Union Home Ministry includes Ministry of Home Affairs (MHA) joint secretary Satyendra Garg, Retired IAS officer Subhas Das, Advocate General of Assam Ramesh Borpatra Gohain,  and one representative of the Assam Students’ Union.

The Committee will submit its report within 6 months from the date of notification, according to the notification issued by the MHA.

Share this: