Guwahati, December 29. 2019:

In a show of strength in Tripura, BJP swept the Tripura civic byeelections in a landslide. The ruling party fronted by controversial Chief Minister Biplab Kumar Deb in the state, won 66 out of 67 seats. The last seat was won by the CPM. The Indian National Congress, which is rebounding in the national political hemisphere after an impressive showing in the assemble elections, did not manage to secure a single seat.

It may be mentioned that BLP opposition, namely, the Congress, Trinamool and the CPM have accused the BJP of trying to rig the election by intimidating voters. BJP in-charge of Tripura state, Sunil Deodhar extended his congratulations to the Tripura CM as well as the Karyakartas of BJP for their strong showing in the municipal elections. Voting took place on Thursday and the results were announced yesterday.

Share this: