Shillong (Meghalaya), Aug 27, 2018:

Five-time legislator, former Speaker of Meghalaya Legislative Assembly and National People’s Party (NPP) candidate MM Danggo had to finally bite the dust in the by-election to Meghalaya’s Ranikor Assembly constituency, result of which was announced on Monday. Danggo was defeated by United Democratic Party’s (UDP) Pius Marwein by 4,462 votes.

Support Independent Media

Support us in our efforts to bring authentic, extensive and thorough news coverage from Northeast India. Do support independent media as good journalism can only survive when a media organization is both editorially and financially independent.

Pay for quality news

While Marwein polled 7,144 votes, Danggo managed to poll 2,682 votes.

The by-election was necessitated in Ranikor constituency following the resignation of Danggo, who was elected on a Congress ticket to the Meghalaya Legislative Assembly in February this year. He quit after deciding to join the ruling NPP.

Earlier in the day, Meghalaya Chief Minister Conrad Sangma too emerged victorious in the by-election to South Tura constituency.

Share this: